Switching CRMs? 10DLC Can Stall Your Texts for 5 Weeks
Most agents price a CRM switch in seats and migration hours. The line item that actually bites on switch week is texting. Every CRM that sends texts to US numbers has to run them through a registered A2P 10DLC campaign, the carrier system that verifies who is texting and why. That registration belongs to the vendor you filed it with. Lofty's help center puts it bluntly: when you've already registered through another vendor, you register again, because "brands and campaigns are vendor-specific and cannot be transferred." Lofty also says approval "typically" takes 3 to 5 business days "but can take up to 4–5 weeks." If you cancel your old CRM before the new registration clears, your follow-up texts stop while your leads keep coming. Here's how Follow Up Boss, BoldTrail and Lofty each handle it, what Lofty charges, and the order to switch in so you don't go dark.
How Long Does 10DLC Registration Take When You Switch CRMs?
Plan for one to five weeks without guaranteed texting on the new platform. Lofty quotes 3 to 5 business days as typical and up to 4 to 5 weeks at worst. Registrations don't transfer between vendors, so the clock restarts every time you switch. Keep your old CRM texting until the new campaign shows as verified.
The delay isn't one review, it's a chain of them. On Lofty, a registration filed with a non-Lofty website first goes through Lofty's own automated pre-review, which checks your opt-in form, privacy policy and terms against what carriers reject most often. If the automated check can't verify something, a Lofty specialist takes it, and Lofty says you'll hear back within 3 business days. Only then does it reach The Campaign Registry, the third party US carriers use for vetting, which Lofty says "usually responds within 7–14 days." Each failed round sends you back to fix your website and resubmit. Follow Up Boss runs a similar front gate: its July 2026 guide says the completed form goes "to the FUB team for review" before it's filed. None of these steps can start until your new account exists, which is why the switch date, not the contract date, is the one that matters.
Why Your Old Registration Doesn't Follow You
A 10DLC registration has two parts. The brand tells carriers who is sending, meaning your legal business or, for a sole proprietor, your legal name. The campaign tells them why, such as real estate marketing or one-to-one client outreach. Your virtual numbers get linked to that campaign inside a specific vendor's messaging account. When you leave the vendor, the link goes with the account you're closing. Lofty's FAQ answers the switching question directly: if you already registered through another vendor, you still register again in Lofty, and doing so "sets Lofty as your vendor automatically." Nothing in that process lets you port an approved campaign the way you'd port a phone number. You're starting a fresh carrier review, with fresh fees where the vendor passes them through, and a fresh chance of rejection if your website doesn't match the form word for word.
The stakes are concrete. Follow Up Boss tells users that "to text from FUB, your business needs to be registered and approved by US mobile carriers," although you can still receive texts and calling and email aren't affected. BoldTrail's admin guide says that if the registration form isn't completed, "your text message capabilities will be temporarily disabled." So the gap doesn't break your inbox. It breaks outbound follow-up, which is the part a new lead notices first.
Follow Up Boss, BoldTrail and Lofty: Who Files, Who Pays
The three platforms on our evaluation roster handle 10DLC in noticeably different ways, and the differences matter most to solo agents and to teams with more than one business. The table compares what each vendor's current help documentation says. Where a cell reads "not stated," the vendor's guide simply doesn't cover it, so treat it as a demo question rather than a yes or no.
| Question | Follow Up Boss | BoldTrail | Lofty |
|---|---|---|---|
| Who files | Owner or admin, once for the whole account | Company Admins only | Each brand, from the user's Personal Settings |
| EIN required? | Yes, for the account owner | Yes | No. A Sole Proprietor path exists |
| Fees in the help docs | No fee or payment step listed | No fee listed | $19 to $59 one-time, $1.50 to $30 a month, paid to the registry, non-refundable |
| Vendor review before filing | Yes, the FUB team reviews | Not stated | Yes, for non-Lofty websites |
| New numbers later | Registered automatically | Not stated | Standard: added to your campaign. Sole Proprietor: a new brand per number |
| Stated approval time | Not stated in the current guide | Not stated | 3 to 5 business days, up to 4 to 5 weeks |
Follow Up Boss is the simplest for a team. One owner or admin completes the form, it covers every team member, and FUB says new numbers you add later, such as a Team Inbox line or a new agent, register automatically under the same business profile. The catch is the one-business rule: "as of today, there is one registration per account," so a team running two legal entities picks one to register every number under. FUB also lists eight website platforms whose forms already meet its opt-in requirements: BoomTown, CINC, Luxury Presence, Real Geeks, Sierra Interactive, Realty One, RealScout and Ylopo. If your site runs on one of those, the opt-in requirement is already covered before you start. Compare the rest of the platform in our Follow Up Boss comparison.
BoldTrail puts the whole job on the admin. Its 10DLC tab is "only visible to Company Admins," so an agent on a brokerage's BoldTrail account can't fix a stalled registration alone and has to go through the broker or office admin. The guide also warns about a second, shorter gap: after approval, your number "will be moved to a new messaging service," and during the move "you may not be able to send SMS messages for a short time," though calls keep working. One more detail trips people up. BoldTrail wants your personal number in the registration fields, not your BoldTrail Smart Number. If you're weighing BoldTrail's cost overall, our BoldTrail pricing guide covers the subscription side.
What 10DLC Costs on Lofty, Plan by Plan
Lofty is the only one of the three that publishes the registry fees, because it passes them straight through. Payment "goes directly to The Campaign Registry, not to Lofty," and every fee is non-refundable, including when a registration fails. You pick a plan by brand type and daily text volume. Agents without an EIN register a Sole Proprietor brand for $19 one-time and $2 a month. With an EIN, you choose Standard Plan A for under 6,000 texts a day at $19 one-time and $1.50 a month, Plan B for more than 6,000 texts a day at $59 one-time and $10 a month, or Plan C, built for franchises with 400+ numbers, at $59 one-time and $30 a month. Plans B and C require a one-time $40 secondary vetting that sets a Trust Score from 0 to 100, which in turn sets your T-Mobile daily limit. Monthly fees bill on the 1st, starting the month after your campaign is verified.
Run the full year and the spread is wide. Plan A costs $19 plus 12 months at $1.50, or $37. A Sole Proprietor brand costs $19 plus $24, or $43. Plan B is $59 plus $120, or $179, and Plan C is $59 plus $360, or $419. None of that will sink a business. The expensive mistakes are the repeat fees. Lofty warns that picking the wrong brand type "will almost certainly fail" and that "you'll pay again to resubmit," and its plan guide adds that campaign use cases can't be changed after approval. A team that registers Plan A, then outgrows 6,000 texts a day, files and pays again. A Plan B registration rejected once over a website mismatch costs $118 in one-time fees before a single text goes out. Lofty's own advice: if you expect to pass 6,000 messages a day, register Plan B now.
The No-EIN Problem for Solo Agents
Here's where the platforms split hardest. Follow Up Boss says the account owner "will need to have an EIN," and BoldTrail lists an EIN as the first thing you need. Lofty is the only one of the three with a path for agents who've never applied for one: the Sole Proprietor brand, registered under your legal first and last name. That path has limits worth knowing before you build a texting-heavy workflow on it. A Sole Proprietor brand gets one campaign, one phone number per campaign, up to 3,000 messages a day with a hard limit of 1,000 to T-Mobile, and a speed of one message per second. And Lofty says that if you have multiple virtual numbers, for example "personal + AI Assistant," you need a separate Sole Proprietor brand for each, using a different personal mobile number each time. Two brands means $38 up front and $4 a month, or $86 over a full year.
For most solo agents, the cleaner fix is to get an EIN before you switch. You'll then qualify on all three platforms and avoid the one-number ceiling. If your plan is to lean on AI follow-up, the ceiling matters more than the fee. Lofty's AI Assistant texts count as A2P traffic like everything else you send from the platform, which is why it needs its own registered number. We break down what Lofty's newer AI tools cost on top of that in our Lofty AOS pricing review.
A Switch-Week Order That Keeps Your Texts Flowing
The fix is sequencing. Everything carriers check lives on your website, so the website work comes first and the cancellation comes last. This order works on any of the three platforms.
- Fix your website before you file. Add an unchecked, optional SMS consent checkbox to your main contact form, keep the Terms and Privacy agreement as its own checkbox, and make the phone field optional. Lofty's checklist requires all three.
- Add the SMS lines to your privacy policy. FUB recommends stating that "data will not be sold or shared with third parties for marketing or promotional purposes." Lofty also wants opt-in data called out as never shared.
- Match your legal name exactly. Use the business name and address on your EIN letter, and show that name as text in your site header or footer, not only inside a logo.
- Register the day your new account opens. On BoldTrail, that means getting your Company Admin to do it. On FUB, the owner or an admin files once for the team.
- Keep the old CRM's texting live. Don't cancel until the new campaign shows as verified and a test text lands on a phone outside your team.
- Move your drip campaigns last. Lofty notes that one 10DLC campaign covers your reason for texting, not each drip, so you won't need a registration per sequence.
Two adjacent rules sit on top of 10DLC. Carrier registration controls delivery. The TCPA and the FCC's consent and opt-out rules control your legal exposure, and a verified campaign doesn't protect you from either. Our breakdown of the FCC opt-out rule for agent texting covers the legal side, and the CRM texting compliance audit walks through consent records and DNC scrubbing. If you're still choosing between platforms, the real estate CRM comparison and our Lofty vs Follow Up Boss pricing breakdown cover the subscription math this post leaves out.
10DLC Questions Agents Ask Before Switching CRMs
Does my 10DLC registration transfer to a new CRM?
No. Lofty's help center says brands and campaigns are vendor-specific and can't be transferred, so you register again with each new vendor. Plan for a fresh carrier review.
How much does 10DLC registration cost on Lofty?
Between $19 and $59 one-time, plus $1.50 to $30 a month depending on plan. Lofty passes the fees to The Campaign Registry, and they're non-refundable even if registration fails.
Do I need an EIN to text from Follow Up Boss or BoldTrail?
Yes. Follow Up Boss requires the account owner to have an EIN, and BoldTrail lists an EIN as required. Lofty offers a Sole Proprietor brand for agents without one.
Can I still receive texts while my registration is pending?
On Follow Up Boss, yes. FUB says you can still receive texts, and calling and email aren't affected. Outbound texting is what stops until carriers approve you.
Does an approved 10DLC campaign make my texts TCPA compliant?
No. 10DLC is a carrier delivery requirement. TCPA consent, opt-out handling and Do Not Call rules still apply to every text you send.
A CRM switch is the one week a year your follow-up is most likely to break, and it's usually the week new seller leads keep arriving anyway. RobinFlow's home-valuation funnels capture seller leads and hand them to the CRM you land on. Start your RobinFlow seller funnel.
Sources: Lofty: A2P 10DLC, What It Is & Which Plan to Choose (updated Apr 29, 2026); Lofty: How to Register for A2P 10DLC (updated Oct 16, 2026); Follow Up Boss: How to register your phone numbers (updated Jul 22, 2026); BoldTrail: Admin, 10DLC Registration (Jul 23, 2026).
